Tasks — Assign, Track, and Complete Office Work
Last updated: November 3, 2026
Preface
What is a Project?
A project is comprised of Phases and is associated with a workflow that guides its journey. When a project is created it is linked to a Master Workflow where there are a set of phases. Within those phases there are a set of Work Orders will open up.
Here is how the progression within a project works:
You may not progress to another Phase unless all preceding Phases are completed
Phases cannot be complete until all Work Orders are complete.
A Work Order cannot be complete unless "all" checklist items are checked.
What is a Task?
In a Project, there are multiple Phases that governs the flow of a project. Within the Phases are the Tasks that contain a list of things to do and access to relevant information (i.e. forms) that will help you complete the work order.
Example: There's a contract intake phase where a customer signs a deal and you need to verify that you have the key information in order before you would get an NTP (Notice to Proceed). In the Work Order, there may be a checklist item that asks you to fill in a contract verification form. You would access the form from the Task, fill it in and then check off the task (i.e. "fill in contract verification form")
There are three types of work in Coperniq: Task, Work Orders, and Service Work Orders. In this article we will cover the Task from the vantage point of day to day operations person.
Task
Below is a Phase with a set of Tasks and a form (see another section on it). It is denoted by a Computer Icon and below is the anatomy of a Work Order



When the Task opened it'll either have a status of [Queued] or [Assigned].
Queued: Task was created, no action taken yet.
Assigned: Task was created and then assigned to a team member, no action taken yet
From here the typical next step is to assign a team member to it. It will then update to "Assigned". Then you will notice there is "Start Working" button.
Click [Start Working], and it will update to "Working". In doing so, you are letting everyone in your team know this is actively being worked on

Click [Move to Waiting] and it will update to "Waiting". In doing so, you are letting everyone in your team know that you are being blocked by something and you can't continue until you are unblocked.

Click [Send to Review] and it will update to "Review". In doing so, you are letting everyone in your team know that this work is ready for a supervisor to review the work.

Click on "Mark Completed" and the entire Task will be completed.

If all Tasks within a Phase is completed, a new Phase will open up with a new set of Work Orders.

While you are still working on a Task you could simply go directly to the up arrow and choose your "In Progress" Status to either "Working" "Clocked In" or "Review". You may choose "Completed" (only if all the checkboxes on Work Order are checked off.
